Coordinating Committee

The Coordinating Committee was established to oversee and give advice on the RWA project.


RESPECTFUL WORKPLACES in the ARTS Coordinating Committee

Chair/Président: Richard Hornsby
Cultural Human Resources Council - rhornsby@unb.ca

Art Dealers Association of Canada
Liz Edwards - elizabeth@ad-ac.ca

Association of Canadian Publishers
Lynn Fisher - lfisher@utpress.utoronto.ca

Canadian Actors’ Equity Association
Arden Ryshpan - arden@caea.com

Canadian Arts Presenting Association
Sue Urquhart - sue.urquhart@capacoa.ca

Canadian Artists’ Representation (CARFAC)
Sally Lee - sl@carfacontario.ca

Canadian Dance Assembly
Kate Cornell - kate@dancecanada.net

Canadian Federation of Musicians
Michael Adam Murray – mmurray@tma149.ca

CPAMO (Cultural Pluralism in the Arts Movement Ontario)
Charles Smith - charlescsmith@rogers.com

Fédération culture canadienne-française
Marie-Christine Morin – mcmorin@fccf.ca

Dance Transition Resource Centre
Amanda Hancox - ahancox@dtrc.ca

Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance
Cynthia Lickers-Sage - cynthia@ipaa.ca

L’Association des théâtres francophones du Canada
Geneviève Pineault – dg@atfc.ca

Orchestras Canada
Katherine Carleton - katherine@oc.ca

Professional Association of Canadian Theatres
Sara Meurling – sara@pact.ca

Professional Association of Canadian Theatres
Ashley Bomberry – ashleyb@pact.ca

The National Ballet of Canada
Barry Hughson - bhughson@national.ballet.ca

The Writers’ Union of Canada
John Degen – jdegen@writersunion.ca


Observers/Observateurs

ACTRA
Daina Green - dzgreen@gmail.com

Canadian Media Producers Association
Marguerite Pigott - marguerite.pigott@cmpa.ca

Canadian Music Publishers Association
Margaret McGuffin –mmcguffin@musicpublishing.ca

Directors Guild of Canada
John MacNeil - jmacneil@dgc.ca

Union des artistes
Pierre Blanchet - pblanchet@uda.ca

 

 

Working Groups

Working Groups were established by and of volunteers ready to work on certain specific areas related to harassment.


Working Group on a National Code of Conduct

Barry Hughson, Chair

Objective

To develop a national Code of Conduct for the Performing Arts that affirms the commitment to workplaces free of harassment – to a culture of respect as the norm – and that is supported by arts organizations across the country.

Status

  1. Research Codes of Conduct on harassment in Canada (e.g. in the screen industries, the music industries, and in the cultural sector in Quebec), and in other countries (e.g. in Britain and Australia). June to August
  2. Prepare a draft Code of Conduct for discussion in the sector, through the RWA Coordinating Committee and in consultations with equity-seeking groups. September and October
  3. Finalize a national Code of Conduct for the Performing Arts, based on the discussions. November
  4. Seek signatories to the national Code of Conduct for the Performing Arts and post it widely in workplaces throughout the arts.

Working Group on Board Governance and Composition

A letter is being developed by Working Group members that can be sent to National Arts Service Organizations and to Business for the Arts to encourage discussion about the issues surrounding Board governance and composition.


Working Group on Reporting and Investigating Mechanisms

Michael Adam Murray, Chair

Objective

To assist CHRC in overseeing research on existing reporting mechanisms for victims of harassment (including sexual harassment, discrimination, bullying and violence); and on investigating mechanisms for employers needing assistance for investigations following a harassment complaint; and in developing recommendations for reporting and investigating mechanisms where they do not exist in the Performing, Visual and Literary Arts.

Status

Jeanne Lesage of Lesage Arts Management has been contracted to undertake the research on reporting mechanisms for victims of harassment, and on investigating mechanisms for employers needing assistance for investigations following a harassment complaint; and to propose recommendations for reporting and investigating mechanisms where they do not exist in the Performing, Visual and Literary Arts. Feedback from the consultations with equity-seeking groups will provide important information for the research. September to December

The WG members will review the research and recommendations. Ongoing

CHRC will prepare the final report for publication. December


Working Group on Training Resources

Amanda Hancox, Chair

Objective

To assist CHRC in gathering available training resources on harassment; and in reviewing the training resources that CHRC is developing.

Status

  1. Gather examples of available training resources on harassment for the Respectful Workplaces in the Arts website. This work will be further enhanced through the consultations with equity-seeking groups.
  2. Review training videos prepared by CHRC for Boards/employers and for workers/artists; and webcasts that explain compliance for provincial and territorial specific legislation relating to harassment.